http://kb.ttsd.k12.or.us/articles/view/541

How to Wipe an iPad

Created on 06/07/2018
Modified on 06/07/2018
How to wipe all content from an iPad to prepare it for another user.

 

1. Open the Settings app.

iPad home screen with settings app highlighted

 

2. Tap "General" and then scroll to the bottom. Tap "Reset."

General settings screen with arrows indicating the user should scroll down. "Reset" button is highlighted.

 

3. Tap "Erase All Content And Settings."

Reset screen with "erase all content and settings" highlighted

 

4. Teachers and secondary students only, enter your iPad passcode. Elementary students will not see this prompt.

Enter passcode prompt with a numeric keypad for entering passcode.

 

5. Tap the "Erase" button. You may see one last confirmation/warning. If so, confirm that you want to continue.

"Erase iPad" message with buttons reading "cancel" and "erase" the erase button is highlighted.

 

6. The iPad will reboot and you will see a white progress bar as the iPad is wiped. You will eventually be taken to the "Hello..." screen. Done! 

iPad on "hello" screen

 

ipads   jamf   
loading...

Was this page helpful?

Please login to provide feedback.
loading...
loading...